Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

Ice Cream Cone 20

I had the ice cream cone cupcake idea pinned on my Pinterest board for the longest time and I finally made them! This creation is super simple, here is what you will need:

  • Cake batter of your choice( I used chocolate)
  • Ice cream cones
  • Cupcake pan
  • Frosting
  • Chocolate
  • Ziploc bag
  • Boiling water
  • Sprinkles
  • Red frosting

Ice cream cone 21

After you prepare your cake batter pour it into the cones (the arrow on the picture is marking the place you will fill the cone up to). Remember not to use about half of the cake batter. I did not want to get a full ice cream scoop effect yet, the scoop would be added later.  I baked the cones for 20 minutes at 325 degrees Fahrenheit. I used a mini cupcake pan and I had no trouble with the cones falling over. The reserved half of the cake batter will go in a pan of your choice. With this cake we will be making “cake pop” ice cream scoops.

Ice cream cone 27

Once your cupcake cones and cake are out of the oven let them cool down. When the cake has cooled down, crumple it and proceed to add frosting to make the cake pops. A tutorial will come soon on how to make cake pops! When your batter is all set, use an ice cream scoop to make the top for the ice cream. The ice cream scoop gives the cake an ice cream like appearance, which I was really excited about!

Ice cream cone 25

I left the ice cream scoops in the refrigerator overnight. The next day came the fun part, decorating! I added some frosting to the bottom of the ice cream scoop to adhere to the cone.

Ice cream cone 26

We are almost done! I melted some chocolate in a Ziploc bag. A simple way to do this is place a cup of water in the microwave till it is hot, then stick the closed chocolate Ziploc bag inside the cup. Your chocolate will be ready in no time.

Ice cream cone 23

When the chocolate was ready, I cut one of the corners of the bag and drizzled the chocolate onto the cones. Then I added sprinkles and with red frosting piped a cherry.

Ice cream cone 28

These baked ice cream cones where super simple and where a big hit with my family. Another great thing about them is the variety is endless you can make, vanilla, strawberry, or chocolate mint ice cream cones!

Ice cream cone 29

8 thoughts on “Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

