Apple Chips

Apple Chips 2

Ever since fall has rolled around, ( everywhere except here in Phoenix!), I see pumpkin and apple recipes floating around. And truth be told, I wanted to jump on the bandwagon. I had apples but did not want to make a pie so I went to my favorite site, Pinterest! I searched apple recipes and I found apple chips among those recipes. Did you know that a bag of apple chips cost $30! I was quite shocked. Luckily the internet is filled with do it yourself recipes. I found this apple chip recipe on the following website: http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2013/07/22/baked-cinnamon-apple-chips/. Sally’s baking addiction is one of my favorite baking blogs. Her pictures are amazing! Anyways, back to the topic of apple chips.

Apple Chips 1

Ingredients:

  1. Apples
  2. Cinnamon
  3. Sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 200F degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Wash and  slice the apples as thinly as possible. You can use a knife.
  3. Spread the apple slices onto the baking pans. Sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar.
  4. Bake  the apples for one hour and then flip them over. Bake for another 1-1.5 hours.
  5. Turn the oven off and keep the apples inside the oven for an hour.

Tips:

  1. Personally I would have just cut the apples with a knife. It was too much of a struggle to use the food processor slicer. I should mention, I used the slicer without the food processor because my apples could not fit inside the food processor. Here is a picture of the apples who got a little bit beat up in the process of slicing! Apple Chips 3
  2. Your apples will not be crunchy after you take them out the first time. I started to doubt my favorite blog because my apples did not have the texture of chips at all! The trick is to leave them alone for a couple hours. They will harden and have the texture of chips.
  3. According so Sally’s Baking Addiction you can store your apple chips in an airtight container for a week.

Happy Baking!

“Every Pro was once an amateur. Every Expert was once a beginner. So dream Big and start Now!”

Picture1

3 thoughts on “Apple Chips

Leave a Reply

